Transportation Planning Excellence Awards Program

Printer Friendly Number 2007-59

Please click here for PDF version.

The Transportation Planning Excellence Awards Program is a biennial awards program developed by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) to recognize outstanding initiatives across the country to develop, plan and implement innovative transportation planning practices. The program is co-sponsored by the American Planning Association.

Anyone may submit a nomination. However, eligible nominations must be for a project, process, group, or individual involved in a project or process that has used Federal Highway Administration and/or Federal Transit Administration funding sources to make an outstanding contribution to the field of transportation planning.

Winning entries will be selected by an independent panel of judges representing diverse backgrounds and expertise. The judge panel recommends recognition for nominations that excel in a variety of criteria. Nominations are due by February 29, 2008, and should fall into one or more of the following categories:

1. Transportation Asset Management
2. Education and Training
3. Freight Planning
4. Homeland and Personal Security
5. Linking Planning and Operations
6. Modeling and Technology Applications
7. Planning Leadership
8. Participation and Consultation
9. Safety Planning
10. Transportation and Land Use Integration
11. Transportation Planning and Environment, and
12. Tribal Transportation Planning

For further information on the program, including eligibility and evaluation criteria, please visit the following link

If you have any questions, please contact Ned Conroy, FTA Region 10, at (206) 220-4318 or email



R.F. Krochalis
Regional Administrator