Organization Structure

The Office of Transit Safety and Oversight has three Program Offices including the:

Under MAP-21, Congress granted FTA authority to directly oversee the safety of operations for all modes of public transportation.  In October 2015, at the direction of the Secretary of Transportation, FTA began asserting direct safety authority of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority’s (WMATA’s) Metrorail system.”

Learn more about the Office Leadership.

Organization Chart

Organization structure for the Office of Transit Safety & Oversight (TSO), described in text below

Organization Chart - Text Version